DO NOT install the Windows Authenticode Certified "Secure service pack" if prompted!!!
This site, http://www.placementpower.org/ seems to be the one behind the distribution of a browser add-in that has nothing to do with security except to violate yours. It really adds the ability to server ads to you that you may or may not want. It may do other harmful things, but this has not been verified. Don't trust something that has to hide what it really is and what it really does to your computer.
They also offer Surf Speak surfspeak.com and Voice command browser. If you are considering these, look for the same thing somewhere else, or make sure you read all about what the do to your computer and what rights you give up by doing so.
They also say they are Windows Authenticode Certified which they may or may not be, I don't know what it takes to be able to claim that, but it does NOT mean that Microsoft approves of what they are doing. If they do, let me know and I'll print that. They also try to make you think that the Secure Service Pack is something important like Macromedia Flash Player, Adobe Reader, Quicktime Player and they mention those products on their site and on the phone if you call them.
Don't be suckered in and tell everyone you know that it's a another scam to use you to generate advertising revenue for them. What do you get? Nothing, or maybe some software you could get elsewhere without the spy ware/adware.
Placement Power, Inc.
43264 Business Park Dr. Suite 106
Temecula, CA 92590
Telephone: (951)506-3500
FAX: (951)506-3509
Email: info@placementpower.com
DO NOT install the Windows Authenticode Certified, "Secure service pack"!
0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Links to this post:
Create a Link
<< Home